Get a quoteSkip to main content

What is Pre-Auth?

A Pre-Auth (or Pre-Authorisation) is an authorise-only payment that can be processed if the Cardholder has to wait a little while for their product and you do not wish to charge them until they receive it or if you wish to run screening for fraud monitoring purposes .A pre-authorisation is essentially a temporary hold placed on a customer’s card and reserves the funds for a future payment transaction. Transactions of this type differ from a standard sale transaction as they are completed with two steps: first you authorise the card, and then secondly choose whether to complete or void the transaction.

Already a customer and need help now?
Drop us a line on live chat.

Still have some questions? We’re ready to help

How much could you save?

If you fancy getting a bit more bang for your buck, get a no-obligation quote from us and see if you could save on your current rates.

Help and support

Everyone gets stuck sometimes. So, if it happens to you, head to our FAQs. We’ve put together loads of helpful info and how-to videos to help you get set up, manage your account, and sort basic issues with your card machines. Easy peasy.

Call us

Fancy a chat about getting started with Tyl? Fab, we’re here for you. Our UK-based team is on:

0345 901 0001

We're open Monday to Friday 9am - 5pm (except bank holidays)

Get a quote