Get a quoteSkip to main content

How does a Pre-Auth work?

When you make an authorise-only payment, the card issuer confirms that the card number and CVC are valid, and that the address details provided match the card’s billing address. A balance is then held against the card for a short period of time until you decide to complete or void the transaction. The amount of time the funds are held will vary by card type, your industry type, and the card issuer.

Already a customer and need help now?
Drop us a line on live chat.

Still have some questions? We’re ready to help

How much could you save?

If you fancy getting a bit more bang for your buck, get a no-obligation quote from us and see if you could save on your current rates.

Help and support

Everyone gets stuck sometimes. So, if it happens to you, head to our FAQs. We’ve put together loads of helpful info and how-to videos to help you get set up, manage your account, and sort basic issues with your card machines. Easy peasy.

Call us

Fancy a chat about getting started with Tyl? Fab, we’re here for you. Our UK-based team is on:

0345 901 0001

We're open Monday to Friday 9am - 5pm (except bank holidays)

Get a quote